Login  |  Register

May 17, 2022
Discussion Forums
Minimize

Welcome to the Mantis Bible Study Discussion Forums!  This is the place to discuss the Mantis Bible Study for Apple iPhone and iPod Touch software, report bugs you find, request or ask questions about new software features, or request new Bible versions or other study tools.

Mantis Bible Study Forums
Minimize
Version 4.8.3 breaks the app
Last Post 06/02/2010 12:33 AM by burggraf. 8 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
jgfidel
New Member
New Member
Posts:7

--
06/01/2010 05:54 PM  
I installed the latest version via the app store update and now only get the opening screen and an immediate shut down of the program. Please advise.
Wbutchart
New Member
New Member
Posts:13

--
06/01/2010 06:27 PM  
Add me to that too, just getting the screen then crashes.
burggraf
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Posts:1604

--
06/01/2010 06:41 PM  
Please DO NOT attempt to upgrade to 4.8.3. While we have extensively tested this version internally, have had beta testers test and approve it, and it has passed Apple's approval for release, this version is crashing on startup. We are currently working with Apple to determine the cause of this problem, and will let you know once it is safe to download 4.8.3.

If you have installed 4.8.3 from the App Store, please try to restore 4.8.2 from your iTunes backup.

We just reloaded the very same version we shipped to Apple last week, and it works fine for us, yet the version in the App Store crashes. This is very frustrating, to say the least!
Wbutchart
New Member
New Member
Posts:13

--
06/01/2010 06:47 PM  
I'm not sure how to restore the app from iTunes, what is it. I do?

I'm sure you will get to the bottom of this soon
burggraf
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Posts:1604

--
06/01/2010 07:19 PM  
I'm no iTunes expert, but I think if you first delete the 4.8.3 version from your iPhone, then go into iTunes and select your iPhone, then go to Applications and check the "Bible Study" app it should reload 4.8.2. version from your last sync.
jgfidel
New Member
New Member
Posts:7

--
06/01/2010 09:58 PM  
When we delete our app before restoring will we lose all our user notes, highlighting etc? Will we need to download all our resources again? I am not exactly excited about that fix. How about sending us the app directly as you do your beta testers to avoid the possible loss of user data?

I realize this issue is not your fault, but there should be a better fix or some assurance that we will not loss our data. Please advise.
burggraf
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Posts:1604

--
06/01/2010 10:20 PM  
If you have backed up your data using the "Backup" button inside the app, you can simply restore your data. It's always suggested that you back up before updating.

I believe, though, that if you restore from an iTunes backup, you will also get your data restored.

We'd be happy to send you the latest version directly -- but we can't. Apple does not allow this. Apple restricts test versions (such as the ones we send to our beta testers) to a very limited number of devices, and each device's unique identifier (ID) must be encoded in these test versions in order to be able to load them on a device. It's a very restricted process.
jgfidel
New Member
New Member
Posts:7

--
06/02/2010 12:32 AM  
Thanks for the replies. I know this must be frustrating for you. I deleted the app and then restored 4.8.2. I had to download all my resources and adjust my settings back to where they were. I did not have much user data since I just purchased the app a few weeks ago. Where is the backup button in the app? When I sync the iPad it says it is backing up, but you might want to check and make certain that user data is available in the event of a crash or if the iPad is changed out at a later date. It would be a shame for some users to that have invested significant time highlighting and making notes to lose them.

Thanks
burggraf
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Posts:1604

--
06/02/2010 12:33 AM  
In both the Bookmarks and Notes screen there is a "Backup" button. Just tap that then tap "Backup Now".
You are not authorized to post a reply.

Active Forums 4.1
NOT LICENSED FOR PRODUCTION USE
www.activemodules.com